--> SEE TEFL

Thread: Do you need a TEFL to get Work Permit/Non Imm Visa at a school?

New Member Array
    vCash
    Thanks

Do you need a TEFL to get Work Permit/Non Imm Visa at a school?

I do not have a Tefl cert but I have 2 years experience in teaching esl. (Just saying this to avoid people replying to the post that I am not qualified and should be teaching anyway )

Can a school give me a work permit and visa even though I do not have a tefl cert? Is it an absolute requirement?

vCash
    Thanks

TEFL - no, bachelors degree - yes.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
    If you can't say something nice about someone, shut the f*k up
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

vCash
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by nbuff View Post

I do not have a Tefl cert but I have 2 years experience in teaching esl. (Just saying this to avoid people replying to the post that I am not qualified and should be teaching anyway )

Can a school give me a work permit and visa even though I do not have a tefl cert? Is it an absolute requirement?
    A TEFL/TESOL/TESL cert is NOT required for the non-b nor is it required for a work permit or provisional teacher's licence.

You DO need a degree from a legitimate university (life degrees/degrees from diploma mills don't cut it) AND either
    a) a passport from one of: UK, Ireland, USA, Canada, NZ or Australia
    b) a TOEIC score over 600

If you lack either a degree or a "correct passport"/TOEIC score then a non-b and work permit are not likely to be in your immediate future.

Work on a tourist visa if you must. Do NOT use fake documents (visa fraud can get you in serious trouble and Thailand is not a place you want to see from the inside of a jail cell).

Contributor Array
    vCash
    Thanks

You really should just save that one somewhere, ttom.

Senior Member Array Getorfmoiland's Avatar