Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: To Raise my Child Thai or as a Westerner???

vCash
    Thanks

To Raise my Child Thai or as a Westerner???

What do you think??? Those of you with kids here and those of you without kids.

I have been married to a Chinese/Thai for a few years now. We have a beautiful 7 month old daughter. I got really lucky finding my wife. I have been traveling back and forth for 3 years now. My daughter is a US citizen (although she has yet to visit the States). However, I almost prefer to raise her more Thai than American. Don't get me wrong, I love my country, but truly believe we have many wrong ideas about what is important in life. We currently live in a condo that my mother in law owns, why not, its free and we have everything we need, she has many condos so we dont feel bad living in one while we are getting started with our newborn and using our money for business and so forth.

Anyways, I believe my wife understands the true meanings in life and my daughter is the happiest child you will ever see. I am afraid of both of them becoming Americanized, thinking primarily of work--money--work--money. Don't get me wrong as these aspects are important, but there is so much more to life than materialistic--capitalistic views. The importance of family, life, true happiness, good deeds, helping others--true internal peace. I believe my daughter will learn the importance of life being raised Thai and Buddhist as opposed to being raised American. It is up to the parents how a child is raised, but you can only control so much. Children learn from their surroundings and society as a whole.