International House - Bangkok

Thread: Teaching Five Sentence Paragraphs

Something Or Other... Array panhunger's Avatar
    vCash
    Thanks

Teaching Five Sentence Paragraphs

As I have said before, I'm not a professional teacher. There is really no one within my EP to discuss certain methods or lessons, so I take them here.

I am considering teaching a very restrictive form of paragraph writing. If you don't mind, I'd like some thoughts on it.

Presently, I'm working with my M5s on paragraph writing, topic sentence, details, concluding sentence. I'm finding many, not all, but many of the students getting lost in a simple paragraph. They end up wandering around with multiple run on sentences, eventually ending the mess with an abrupt halt!

I've observed these students on countless occasions. They give little effort to the whole endeavor. They often write as fast as possible to get the thing done with as many words as possible, as if more is better! They take little time with word choice. They rarely read their work aloud. They always seem to give writing the least of their efforts.

I've found making them write multiple drafts, making corrections and rewriting the corrected work, has improved their awareness, but only slightly. Most just do not care.

So I was going to introduce the five sentence paragraph. I don't like restrictive forms of writing, and the five sentence paragraph is very restrictive. Topic sentence; three details in three sentences; and a concluding sentence. However, this just might be a way to 'restrict' the mistakes by restricting the blind assembly line word race.

Any thoughts on this or other writing instruction tips?
    "Goddamn it Lord, bless oh ye this bacon..."

George Liquor American

President of the Galaxy Array zaphodbeeblebrox's Avatar
    vCash
    Thanks

Re: Teaching Five Sentence Paragraphs