--> International House - Bangkok
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Discipline problems with Leuk Kreungs

Non Sibi Sed Omnibus Array Umbuku's Avatar
    vCash
    Thanks

Discipline problems with Leuk Kreungs

I'm not sure if this should be in the staffroom or here.
    I have been working as a teacher here for five years now. I have noticed in this time a lot of discipline problems from Leuk Kreung students, especially the boys. As a father of a future male Leuk Kreung student I was wondering if anyone had formed this same opinion. That Leuk Kreung boys are generally more boisterous and a large number of them have authority figure problems.
    I have also noted that these authority figure problems are worse when the boy is dealing with a Thai teacher. Any thoughts?
    Faith, by itself, isn't a good enough reason to believe. Instead, a belief must be defensible through reason, logic, and evidence.
    The idea that faith is somehow justified by the fact that the beliefs cannot be proven is a truly Orwellian position to adopt - not to mention intellectually and ethically dangerous.

Regular User Array
    vCash
    Thanks

Interesting post. We have a few too - and they dont exactly shine, either academically or behaviour-wise. I think they are trying to be different from the rest of the kids. The certainly achieve that goal, but in a rather negative way. These seem to be the kids torn between two cultures. The ones that seem to excel have accepted either, whether they become more 'thai' or 'falang'.

New Member Array
    vCash
    Thanks

Discipline is a reduntant word in Thailand. I've noticed appalling behaviour from young boys, L.K's. included, being indulged by women who then complain when the 'beasts' grow up that Thai men treat women badly. Physician heal thyself.

Senior Member Array dongintheklong's Avatar
    vCash
    Thanks

Never have taught a luek kreung. Do you all work in international schools? Do leuk kreungs go to 'normal' Thai schools?