--> International House - Bangkok

Thread: Few handy tips would be nice.

vCash
    Thanks

Few handy tips would be nice.

HI, me again.

I've settled into my job in the sticks now and I have brilliant classes and then I have classes well, let's just say I want to pull my hairs out by the end.

Anyway, I've been asked by the director to make classes fun and simple (the level of English in the students here is extremely low in comparison to what I've previously taught) which is what I try to do when the classes willing to learn, which is I would say 80% of the time. I have been told I can teach what I like and I do not have to give any homework. Oddly enough the school seems to be very happy with me. (although I think that may be more to do with the fact that the kids love more than my teaching ability.

What I would like to know is if I'm am doing things right as I'm still a newbie and sometimes wondering if I'm actually teaching effectively. I usually walk into any lesson with a goal and that usually involves having them learn a model question and then the model sentence in response (I do take some lessons to increase vocab, usually using songs.) I choose a theme to base this around and try to make it as fun as possible whether it be by integrating games or songs to reinforce what I'm teaching. I have no syllabus so everything is basically what I think is suitable and I have not had much experience in effectively sequencing my lessons.

I would just like a little feedback on whether what I am teaching is suitable and if anyone has a few suggestions on games I can use for P1 2 and 3.

Thanks in advanced.

Senior Member Array Bangkok Phil's Avatar
    vCash
    Thanks

I've been asked by the director to make classes fun and simple
    I personally think it's one of the most depressing things you can hear a Thai director say. All the kids care about is fun! now get in there and clown around like there's no tomorrow.

vCash
    Thanks