Thread: newbie coming to Thailand

New Member Array
    vCash
    Thanks

newbie coming to Thailand

Greeting and salutations to all of my soon to be colleagues:

First and foremost, I want to take this opportunity and introduce myself to the Ajarn community. Many of the threads have been very useful and I have appreciated the wit of many posters on these boards.

As the title suggests, I am in the midst of making my first big journey to Thailand. And to be honest, I am scared shitless. I have only seen the ocean five times in my life and I have never left America in my life. My desired destination is Hat Yai because I have some very good friends there.

I have several options before me and I am unsure which one would be the best one for me specifically. For the past year, I have been a teacher in special education in BaltimoreMaryland. However, my college degree is in Social Work and not in Education. My options are:

1: Arrive mid august and attend StamfordCollege in oct.

2: Take an online Tefl class from Tefl International (any pro/cons for this?)

3: Enroll in the TEFL class in Ban Phe (hopefully I spelt the name correctly) and accept a 30,000k thb for four months (pitifully low i know).

4: Rely upon my teaching credentials (I am not a licensed teacher) and my college degree

I just want to build up my esl resume' and in a couple of years teach in korea, japan, or taiwan. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Jeff

Established User Array
    vCash
    Thanks

Re: newbie coming to Thailand

Quote Originally Posted by StarGazer
    My desired destination is Hat Yai because I have some very good friends there.
    Welcome to the board, StarGazer. Shouldn't your friends in Hat Yai be your first point of contact?

Have you got a wicked southern accent? I just lurve that southern drawl. I think Thai kids will find you easy to understand.