-->

Thread: CELTA, TEFL or TESOL??

New Member Array
    vCash
    Thanks

CELTA, TEFL or TESOL??

Hi,

I am looking to move to Thailand next year, I currently work as a computer network engineer but would like to back my search for work in Thailand up with some English teaching qualifications to give me more options.

I have a Ba in IT, I was wondering from peoples experiences what advice they might have with choosing CELTA, TEFL or TESOL?

I only have my GCSE has English related qualification and thats from 13 years ago, would there be any value given in taking an English Language A level before I make the move?

Also I speak some Thai and can read very well and write a little, does it give an advantage at all when looking for work?

Also just if anybody might know, do IT jobs exist for farangs outside Bangkok?

Any feedback much appreciated. Happy New Year to everybody

vCash
    Thanks

Re: CELTA, TEFL or TESOL??

Quote Originally Posted by dangbry
    I have a Ba in IT, I was wondering from peoples experiences what advice they might have with choosing CELTA, TEFL or TESOL?
    a celta is a tefl certificate...one of the highly-regarded ones, worth doing.

...would there be any value given in taking an English Language A level before I make the move?
    i don't think so, no...

...does it give an advantage at all when looking for work?
    not really...might though, but then it also might be a disadvantage too...funny country!

...do IT jobs exist for farangs outside Bangkok?
    teaching i.t.? yes.

"so please show no pity as we come up from the ground, and please remember as you kill us and cut us down that time will not wash clean the bloody face of history, and someone will breathe here again and they will hate you for what you leave." m.g.

New Member Array
    vCash
    Thanks

Hi,

Thanks for the reply, do you know whether the CELTA courses in Thailand would be as good or better to take when compared with one in England.