Thread: Newbie Intro and Questions!

vCash
    Thanks

Newbie Intro and Questions!

Hello!

Just thought I would introduce myself .

I live in Canada, I am in my last year of secondary school and I will be attending university in the fall. I'm a stranger to Thailand and teaching, but I do have a serious interest in trying it out in several years. I know that I am probably a lot younger than a lot of you on the boards and that any kind of career is quite far off for me, but I am very eager to learn as much about life in Thailand as possible before I make any commitments.

Also, considering I am currently applying to universities I thought it might be helpful to ask what everybody thinks would be the most useful degree program to go into for teaching in Thailand. I suppose it's a good time to ask since I am just starting out and can choose anything at this point. I am trying to apply for programs that reflect my interest in living and working abroad, but I'm not really sure what will help me the most; honestly, it's quite overwhelming.

I have applied to the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences in International Studies, with Humanities as a second choice. In addition to teaching ESL, I have a keen interest in working with an international development agency such as the Red Cross - that is why I have not applied to the Faculty of Education. But who knows? I'm thinking a volunteer program abroad sometime in the next couple of years will help me decide whether or not I will stay with teaching.

Thank you for your time and consideration. Any advice you may be able to give me is greatly appreciated!

vCash
    Thanks

Re: Newbie Intro and Questions!

Hello and welcome.
    A degree that would serve you well is a teaching degree in, teaching English. It would serve you well not just here in Thailand, but in any non-native English speaking country. A masters would be good. Math and science would also work for EP programs. With a masters you could teach in universities.