Thread: Is it hard to get a job without tefl

New Member Array
    vCash
    Thanks

Is it hard to get a job without tefl

I was thinking of going to Bangkok in January i was going to do a TEFL but now i'm thinking i might not and maybe just look for a part time job in language schools and then when term starts in May
    the experience i have from teaching in language schools might count for more than the TEFL. Is it hard to get a job at languages schools. If i go in January it seems it would be mostly language school jobs available.
    I looked at most the jobs on Ajarn and nearly all of them require TEFL but then i read a post that said most the jobs are from agencies and you would be better to just walk into schools and give them your C.V. I have a degree in Biology with no teaching experience. So is it really difficult to get a job with just a degree.

vCash
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by shanetim View Post
    is it really difficult to get a job with just a degree.
    It isn't. The better paying jobs with better positions will be closed to you though. Getting some decent teaching experience behind you will help change that.

If i go in January it seems it would be mostly language school jobs available.
    There won't be many positions in January.

vCash
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Pants View Post
    It isn't. The better paying jobs with better positions will be closed to you though.
    as it happens, *with* a TEFL the better paying jobs with better positions will probably be closed to you too. alternatives are a) proper education credientials or b) a bling degree from a shiny uni.

that said, a) better paying will still be underwhelming and b) you really ought to consider a *real* teachering credential and not a TEFL if you're at all serious about this.... and yes, "and" is better than "or.". ...
    Imodium can't stop me.

vCash
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by zeusbheld View Post