--> International House - Bangkok
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Uni Teacher denied work permit based on new requirements

New Member Array
    vCash
    Thanks

Uni Teacher denied work permit based on new requirements

I teach at a uni in the northeast and have been denied a work permit based on the new requirements. I am not very alarmed. It's my understanding, and the understanding of most, that as a uni teacher I should not have been denied, but this doesn't matter much when the immigration official has a different understanding.

I have been in Thailand for over ten years and have had a work permit for the duration of that time. I had previously been working for a private language school (the big one) and never had a problem. I recently began teaching at uni in the northeast and when I went to renew my work permit/visa in February, I was told I needed to get a TL first.

I have a BA in English with an Ed minor. I took and passed the NTE exam in the US and was licensed to teach there. I taught as a full tme teacher in New York City before coming east.

Again, I am not posting this to "alarm" uni teachers. I think that this issue will be worked out for me over the coming weeks. The fact remains, however, that this issue is having reprecussions and after having had no problems for ten years, I am now on my second tourist visa.

Yes, this is my first post. No, I am not a "troll" or whatever that is, I just don't spend all that much time on line.

Does anyone know where (in which document) it states that university teachers do not need the TL?

I could use the input. Thanks.

Senior Member Array kidneystone's Avatar
    vCash
    Thanks

Re: Uni Teacher denied work permit based on new requirements

Quote Originally Posted by Ajarn North

Does anyone know where (in which document) it states that university teachers do not need the TL?