--> International House - Bangkok
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Believe it or not....

vCash
    Thanks

Icon13 Believe it or not....

Just thought I would share. I had a walk-in applicant today and here is the gist of the conversation:

Me: Thanks for stopping by, may I see your resume and back-up documentation please?
    App: Oh I don't have one. I have only been in Thailand for 4 months and have only done volunteer teaching.

Me: Were you a teacher in your home country?
    App: Yes, I taught sports for 4 years

Me: Great, then may I see that resume?
    App: I don't have one, I have very little experience in Thailand.

Me: I understand that, but if you want to secure a teaching position, then you must have proof that you were a teacher in the past. Future employers like to check references and see the subjects you taught as well as the ages of the children. Even volunteer experience should be listed, detailing the number of students, their ages, and if you created your own materials.
    App: Yes, I understand, but I only taught for three months in Thailand as a volunteer when I traveled.

Me: May I suggest that you create a resume that outlines your experience in your home country, as well as your experience here in Thailand?
    App: Yes, thank you but I do not have any experience in Thailand.

OMG - shoot me now!!!!

I also had an interview scheduled and confirmed by the applicant for 10:30am. At 11am I called to find out if she was delayed. Here is what she said:

"I am so sorry maam, my cousin got sick and cannot take me, so I will not show to the interview today"

What ever happened to professional courtesy of calling and advising that you are not able to make the appointment and you would like to reschedule? She had 9 years of experience but I am no longer interested, if she did that on an interview - just imagine the possibilities!!!