International House - Bangkok
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bangkok CELTA and that new school

New Member Array
    vCash
    Thanks

Bangkok CELTA and that new school

Hello Bangkok CELTA experts,
    My University in Seoul wants me to get CELTA certified this February. I said fine, I'll do it in Bangkok. I lived in Bangkok for 3 years and miss some things dearly. I never taught English before, my degree is in Engineering; so the CELTA sounds worthwhile for me in my new career.
    As I look over the threads here, I see a lot about ECC and Elite CELTA degrees, with most votes going to ECC. But there is a prominent banner ad here for International House. Can anyone recommend / compare their CELTA program to ECC? I like the location better on Silom anyway; but Siam square's not bad either.
    Actually my Korean boss wants me to get the CELTA at the British Council here in Seoul. Before I left Bangkok, I checked at the Siam Square British Council and they seemed pretty clueless about what a CELTA degree was. So, British Council Bangkok doesn't offer CELTA; is that right? Any comparison between ECC (or IH) and a British Council program? I need to 'sell' this Bangkok CELTA idea to my Korean boss.
    Weather is turning chilly now in Seoul. It's jacket weather and the leaves are starting to change color. And no need to worry about the terrible winters because the schools here are out from Dec 15 to Feb 28 and Jun 15 to Aug 30. I'll spend that time in BKK!
    Thanks,
    Drew

Senior Member Array Bangkok Phil's Avatar
    vCash
    Thanks

This will be the first CELTA program that IH Bangkok has run.
    Not fair to call it a 'new school' though. It's been in business in Bangkok at least four years that I know of
    The worst job in Thailand must be the man who has to sit down with a blue marker pen and mark a number two on the two-baht coins to stop people thinking they are one-baht coins.

vCash
    Thanks